New York Public Library’s Top 100 Children’s Books for 2010

The New York Public Library, one of my favorite institutions, has released their list of 100 children’s titles of 2010.  I was surprised to see that I had read very few titles on the list to my son, so I intend to use their recommendations as a resource when helping my son select library books.  (In fact, the only one we had read was The Quiet Book by Deborah Underwood, which I thought was adorable, but for some reason my two-year found it utterly hilarious rather than calm-inducing.)  As one librarian notes, the committee that compiles the list is “seeking to promote books for their wonder, captivating qualities, and literary spirit,” a sentiment I can get behind.  You can find a link to the list via this article on the NYPL Blog:  Childrenâ��s Books: 100 Titles for Reading and Sharing – Meet the Librarians.  I must admit that I envy the librarians who were tasked with creating this list.  I had no idea that people get to attend meetings for the sole purpose of discussing their favorite children’s books.  Sounds divine to me!

PDF of the NYPL’s List of 100 Titles for Reading and Sharing for 2010 [http://kids.nypl.org/reading/100_books_2010_nypl.pdf]

Leave a comment

Filed under Children's Books

Leave a Reply

